The North Carolina DMV Point System If you are issued…
What to do if You get a Traffic Ticket
Are you worried about a car insurance rate increase after getting a traffic ticket? Call us right away at Helms Law Group, P.A. We can help you navigate the court system and get you the best possible outcome.
What Are Insurance Points?
Insurance points are determined by the North Carolina Department of Insurance as part of “The North Carolina Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP)” as a means to encourage people to be safe drivers, or else suffer financial consequences on insurance rates. You can find a complete chart online at www.ncdoi.com showing the types of offenses in relation to the SDIP points and how those offenses and resulting points will increase your car insurance rate. (The examples below are based on information available from the North Carolina Department of Insurance as of February 2019.)
By way of example, you will receive one SDIP point for speeding 10 mph or less (assuming you do have moving traffic violations within the last three years), and your car insurance rate will increase by 30%. If you have not had any moving traffic violations within the last three years, then you will not get a SDIP point for speeding 10 mph or less. You will receive two SDIP points for following someone too closely, and your insurance rate will increase by 45%. For reckless driving offenses or passing a stopped school bus, you will receive four SDIP points and your car insurance rate will increase by 80%. The maximum number of SDIP points you can receive for any given offense is twelve, such as Driving While Impaired or hit-and-run resulting in bodily injury or death, and your insurance rate will increase by 340%.
Insurance points are different than DMV points. The North Carolina DMV can suspend your license based on the number of DMV points you have, whereas insurance points will determine the rate increase on your motor vehicle insurance premium. For more information on DMV points, come back next week to read our post on DMV points: Understanding the North Carolina DMV Point System
How do I Keep Insurance Points at a Minimum?
First of all, practice safe driving habits. But, if you happen to get a citation, please call us immediately at (704) 289-4577, so that one of our experienced attorneys can negotiate your citation with the District Attorney’s office. Do not attempt to handle your traffic citation on your own or pay it online.Back to all blog posts